Nineteen Graduate Students Awarded Presidential Scholarship

Almost 20 Jackson School of Geosciences graduate research assistants have been awarded The University of Texas at Austin’s Unrestricted Endowed Presidential Scholarship. Each will each receive at least $2,500 in unrestricted funds.

Congratulations to (l to r):

Endowed Presidential Scholarship News.001 1 840x600 Acf Cropped
  • Claudia Banks 
  • Sarah Brooker
  • Ethan Conrad
  • Sarah Davis
  • Samuel Fung
  • Juan Gutierrez

  • Harpreet Kaur
  • Josh Malone
  • Naoma McCall
  • Nick Meszaros
  • John Moretti
  • Zach Murphy
  • Simone Puel

  • Veronika Redensek
  • Cat Ross
  • George Segee-Wright
  • Travis Stone
  • Abby Varona
  • Claire Williams

Each year, students are nominated for the scholarship by their advisors on behalf of the Jackson School’s Department of Geological Sciences. Across campus, there is a pool of 2,000 qualifying (GPA 3.75+) students from which a fraction are awarded the scholarship.

“The recipients of this prestigious merit-based award are the best and brightest in the UT and JSG student body,” said Daniel Stockli, chair of the Department of Geological Sciences. “The department is very proud of each student’s accomplishments for receiving this tremendous honor.” 

Compiled by Kristin Phillips, Department of Geological Sciences