The Department has over 50 faculty members, including four research professors, and a Distinguished Senior Lecturer. Department faculty and researchers are leaders in their field. They include members of the National Academy of Engineering and Sciences, past presidents of national geological societies, and winners of prestigious national and international awards, such as the Geological Society of America’s Donath Medal and Penrose Medal, the Society for Sedimentary Geology’s Twenhofel Medal, and the Association for Computing Machinery’s Gordon Bell Prize. Some hold joint positions with the Jackson School’s Institute for Geophysics and Bureau of Economic Geology, offering students an interdisciplinary research perspective.