Melvin G. Marcus Distinguished Career Award

American Association of Geographers (AAG)- Geomorphology Specialty Group


Career Stage:
Late stage career

Subject Areas:
Geomorphology, Geographer, Sedimentology

The GSG ( Awards Committee invites nominations for the GSG's the Melvin G. Marcus Distinguished Career Award. The award is presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to geomorphology over their career. Nominations for the Melvin G. Marcus Distinguished Career Award remain active for five years. The award will be announced during the Geomorphology Specialty Group (GSG) Business Meeting at the 2022 AAG Annual Meeting.

Nomination Process:
The nomination package should include in a single PDF file with nominee's name included in the file name (ex., "JDoe_MarcusAward"):
  1. - A brief description of the candidate's contribution to geomorphology
    - A brief biographical sketch
    - A select bibliography
    - Three letters of support from colleagues
To be considered for the 2022 award, the Awards Committee must receive the nomination package and any supporting documentation by December 10, 2021.
Please submit materials electronically to the Awards Committee Chair: Ranbir Kang (

View AwardNominate Colleague